Advisors for Freshmen Declared Students

Schedule appointments through SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst) at https://umiami.campus.eab.com/

Let your advisor know if you cannot keep an appointment. If you can’t reach your advisor, please call The Center for Freshman Advising at 305-284-3437 to cancel.

A

Dr. Edmund Abaka History
613 Ashe
305-284-3702
e.abaka@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Prof. Jafari Allen Africana Studies
214 E-B Merrick
305-284-6340
Email for appointments: jsa118@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Orlando Alvarez Physics
316 Knight Physics Bldg
305-284-7127
oalvarez@miami.edu
Office Hours: Tu 1:15-3:15
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Drew Armstrong Mathematics
437 Ungar
305-284-2186
Email for appointments: d.armstrong@math.miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

B

Dr. Kenneth Baker Mathematics
407 Ungar
305-284-2160
Email for appointments: k.baker@math.miami.edu
Office Hours: Mon, Thurs 2:15-3:30 and by appointment.
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Hermann Beck History
Ashe 603
305-284-5947
Email for appointments: hbeck@miami.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:00-3:15
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Bruno Benedetti Mathematics
533 Ungar
305-284-8652
b.benedetti@math.miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Merike Blofield Women's & Gender Studies
160G Campo Sano
305-284-6116
Email for appointments: m.blofield@miami.edu
Office Hours: T, Th 12:30-1:45 pm, and by appointment
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Mr. Paul Bongarzone Biology
Cox Science 160
305-284-1712
bongarzone@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Ann Brittain Anthropology
102 Merrick
305-284-5068
Email for appointments: a.brittain@miami.edu
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday, 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM and 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Prof. Jennifer Burke Theater Arts
Hecht 224B
305-284-8394
Email for appointments: jburke@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

C

Mr. Dominic Castillejo International Studies M-Z
207 Ashe
305-284-5487
d.castillejo@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Elijah Chudnoff Philosophy
707 Ashe
305-284-4757
Email for appointments: e.chudnoff@miami.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 12:00 – 2:00
or by appointment
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Logan Connors Mordern Languages and French
210-05 Merrick
305-284-2211
Email for appointments: lxc888@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Chris (George) Cosner Mathematics
417 Ungar
305-284-3519
c.cosner@math.miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

D

Ms. Jennifer Delgado Biology
Cox Science 160
305-284-1712
Jad407@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Heather Diack Art History
302B Merrick
305-284-2542
Call or e-mail Dr. Heather Diack at 305-284-2542 / h.diack@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Viviana Diaz-Balsera Mod.Lang. Spanish & German
210-14 Merrick
305-284-7222
Email for appointments: vdiaz-balsera@miami.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays: 3:30-6:30pm Thursdays: 12:30-3:30pm
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

F

Ms. Elizabeth Fulton Psychology / Neuro
508 Flipse
305-284-1756
Email for appointments: efulton@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

G

Prof Evelina Galang Creative Writing
Ashe 309
305-284-5573
Email for appointments: mgalang@miami.edu
Office Hours: CREATIVE WRITING STUDENTS ONLY
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Massimiliano Galeazzi Physics
319 Knight Physics
305-284-2326
m.galeazzi@miami.edu
Office Hours: W 11:00 am-12:00 pm
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Feng Gong Biochem & MolecBio
MB-214A
7865424656
Email for appointments: fgong@miami.edu
Office Hours:Appointment by email first, meet between 2:00 pm to 5:00pm in Merrick Bldg 214A

Additional Information: My BMB Advising Office is located in Merrick Building, Room 214A (MB-214A). 2:00 pm to 5:00pm, advising available every Tue and Thu in front of the Dooley memorial building
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Thomas Goodmann English
413 Ashe
305-284-4075
tgoodmann@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Richard Grant Urban Studies
115R Campo
305-284-6689
Email for appointments: rgrant@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Karl Gunther History
Ashe 611
305-284-4151
k.gunther@miami.edu
Office Hours: Mondays, 2pm-4pm
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Tassie Gwilliam English
408 Ashe
305-238-4468
t.gwilliam@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

H

Dr. Thomas Harris Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Merrick Building, Room 214A (MB-214A)

tharris@miami.edu
Office Hours: By Appointment

Additional Information: My BMB Advising Office is located in Merrick Building, Room 214A (MB-214A). You will see large vertical banner "MALS - Master of Art in Liberal Studies" at the front entrance (MB-214). Go in this door and wait in reception area. I will come get you at your appointment time. If you are late, just walk past the front desk, and my office will be first door to left (MB-214A).
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Terri Hood Ecosystem Science & Policy
Ungar 230-A
305-972-6203
t..hood@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

K

Dr. James Klaus Geological Science
43-C Cox Science
305-284-6792
Email for appointments: j.klaus@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Marc Knecht Chemistry
360 Cox Science
305-284-9351
knecht@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Prof. Huseyin Kocak BS Computer Science
310H Ungar
305-284-3138
Email for appointments: h.kocak@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

L

Dr. Mathias Lichtenheld Microbiology & Immunology
251 Cox Science
305-243-3301
mlichten@med.miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Diana Lopez Microbiology & Immunology
251 Cox Science
305-284-6422
d.lopez@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Maria Lorca-Susino Economics
523-F Jenkins bulding (Business School)

Email for appointments: ecoadvising@gmail.com
Office Hours: FALL 2017 (Until December 13, 2017) Mondays, Tuesday and Wed from 10:00 am - 12:00 pm No Appointments JUST WALK-IN
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

M

Dr. Michelle Maldonado Religious Studies
510 Ashe
305-284-9782
Email for appointments: mmaldonado@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Arun Malhotra Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Richter Library Ground Floor,outside room 121
305-243-2826 or 305-610-4288
amalhotra@miami.edu
Office Hours: By Appointment; If you need to see me at times not listed on the advising calendar, my office is in Gautier room 109A on the Med School Campus.

Additional Information: I am on the CG campus only if there is an advising meeting. Please set up appointments at least one day in advance so that I can plan my travel.
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Ms. Gina Maranto Ecosystem Science & Policy
Ungar 230 J
305-284-8519
g.maranto@miami.edu
Office Hours: MWF 11:15 and by appointment
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Adriana Meade Psychology & Neurscience
509 Flipse
305-284-3303
amm562@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
MicroTeam Microbiology & Immunology
251 Cox Science Center
305-284-6422
riwill@miami.edu
Office Hours: Fax: 305-284-1797
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Pengzi Miao Mathematics
447 Ungar
305-284-2859
p.miao@math.miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Isadora Mota History
Ashe
305-284-
Email for appointments: inm14@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Rik Myers Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Merrick Building, Room 214A (MB-214A)

rmyers@med.miami.edu
Office Hours: Advising hours as scheduled via the A&S advising site. Other meetings in Gautier 305 (Medical Campus) by appointment.

Additional Information: The BMB Advising Office is located in Merrick Building, Room 214A (MB-214A). Enter the suite and wait in reception area. I will come get you at your appointment time. If you or I are late, just walk past the front desk, and my office will be first door to left (MB-214A). For students doing research at Miller, I am making time available by email appointment on the Miller campus in my lab (Gautier 305). Please do not drop in, schedule an appointment for Monday or Wednesday between 1PM and 2 PM.
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

P

Dr. Bryan Page Anthropology
102 E Merrick
305-284-2535
bryan.page@miami.edu
Office Hours: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM (except class times, MWF 10:10 - 11:00 AM)
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Prof. William Pestle Latin American Studies
102E -and- 214-EC Merrick
305-284-3761
Email for appointments: w.pestle@miami.edu
Office Hours: Tues 11-12 Thurs 12-2
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Roxane Pickens American Studies
127 Richter/214 Merrick
305-284-2604
rpickens@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

R

Dr. Burt Rosenberg Computer Science for BS students
523 Ungar
305-284-2141
Email for appointments: burt@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. John Paul Russo Classics/Foote Fellow
Ashe 523C
305-284-6326
Email for appointments: jprusso@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

S

Dr. Kurt Schesser Microbiology & Immunology
251 Cox Science
305-243-4623
Email for appointments: kschesser@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Ms. Odelia Schwartz BA Computer Science
330 K Ungar
305-284-8793
Email for appointments: oxs113@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Haim Shaked Judaic Studies
105 Merrick
305-284-6882
Email for appointments: hshaked@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Arthur Simon Political Science & Public Administration
110D Campo Sano
305-284-4013
asimon@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Jan Sokol-Katz Sociology/Criminology
120 Merrick E
305-284-6178
jsokol@miami.edu
Office Hours: By appointment on Tuesday from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. and on Thursdays from 11:00 a.m. - 3:30
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

T

Dr. Diana Ter-Ghazaryan Geography & Reginal Studies
115 Campo Sano
305-284-6679
Email for appointments: terghazar@miami.edu
Office Hours: Tu and Th 11 am to 1 pm
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Mrs. Suzanne Thomas-Hall International Studies A-L
211 Ashe
305-284-6337
Email for appointments: sthomash@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Mr. Nathan Timpano Art History
302 Merrick
305-284-2542
Email for appointments: ntimpano@miami.edu 
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Kyle Trowbridge Art and Art History
112 Rainbow Building 1540 Levante Ave
305-284-2542
k.trowbridge@umiami.edu
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday from 10:00am - 12:00pm & 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Appointment Method: Call or e-mail, for appointments at 305.284.2542 / k.trowbridge@umiami.edu. I have open advising hours. First come first serve on Monday and Wednesdays from 10:00am-12pm and again from 1:00pm-3:00pm.
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)

W

Dr. Jamie Walls Chemistry
Rm 153, Knight Physics Bldg.
305-284-4570
Email for appointments: jwalls@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. David Williams BFA Theater Arts

Email for appointments: dwilliams@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Roger Williams Microbiology & Immunology
251 Cox Science
305-284-6422
Email for appointments: riwill@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. James Wilson PRISM
344 Cox Science
305-282-8599
jnwilson@miami.edu
Office Hours: Open Office Hours (CHM222, CHM113 students included): Mon/Wed 3-4 pm Tue 1-2 pm
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)
Dr. Stefan Wuchty Computer Science for BS students
315 Ungar
305-284-2268
Email for appointments: s.wuchty@miami.edu
Click here to schedule appointment in SSC Campus (formerly GradesFirst)